2 thoughts on “Want to Lead an Organization? Stop Blogging.

  1. Interesting post Ryan! These are questions I’ve asked myself more than once. Because I certainly feel that I’m primarily working in BPA mode, but I also recognize that there will probably be a time in my life when I’ll need to step up and mostly lead which will, as you say, require a whole new way of being. Although I do think that BPAs can in fact lead, or crush targets as you put it, and that’s what I’ve been trying to figure out how to do these days. Is it possible to do both well… simultaneously? I wish I could help you out but I don’t know enough to tell you how to crush your targets. I will say that asking these questions probably brings you closer to where you want to be…

    Cheers,
    FF

    Like

  2. I am not sure I agree with the premise of the title, or with the characterization of the questions a leader asks.

    Maybe because I consider myself a leader (it certainly seems that some of my colleagues think so, and I have been employed to be one), and because I also blog.

    I do agree that there are categories of questions. However, some of my “traction” as a leader, and acceptance into some of my new communities has been improved by the fact that I am not afraid to blog.

    Now, I will admit, that there are large parts of my work life which are not reflected in the blog, and many difficult decisions among them. But who said that absolutely everything that happens to a blogger needs to appear on the blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

