CHLA Presentation ReCAP

Yesterday, Kelli Wooshue (our Reference Department Manager) and I did a 3 1/2 hour CE accredited tutorial on Current Awareness tools for Web 2.0 for the Canadian Health Libraries Association Conference.   The whole whack of materials is available on the course wiki including a, erm, “colourful” Meebome widget for my IM account (i did a demonstration of MeeboMe, and chose tacky colors to show how easy it is to do).

I always like to say that the best way to learn something is to teach it to someone else.  I am happy to say that I’ve learned some new things during this session:

  • When it comes to Web 2.0, Medical, Law, Public, Academic whatever librarianship is all the same.   If you show someone something like RSS, they will find ways to apply it themselves — it doesn’t matter the context.
  • I’m considering offering an executive summary of all my presentations, instead of a group of slides (which could just be put on to slideshare anyway).     The main reason for this is that it is an easy way to cover theoretical/contextual information that would be less interesting in a workshop setting.    For example, I cover Metcalfe’s law in the executive summary, but I did not touch it during the presentation.
  • If your website includes a lot of links and people at your presentation have access to a computer, having a wiki is a great idea.    I learned this from the way Greg Schwartz does Uncontrolled Vocabulary.
  • It’s good to break from the structured powerpoint and just show how the service works.
  • People are not going to be as resistant to your ideas as you think.    It was great to see a good combo of healthy skepticism and open-mindedness.    I wasn’t sure how people were going to respond to Twitter, but the response was fabulous.

All in all, I feel that the presentation went very well and much fun was had by all.    I look forward to hearing about CHLA experiences here in Halifax over the next week or so.

One thought on “CHLA Presentation ReCAP

  1. Thinking about people being “resistant” to Twitter, I tried to soften up the last group that I spoke to about Twitter by first talking about how incredibly stupid it was and showing them this screenshot of the public timeline to talk about how narcissistic and awful it was before confessing how much I absolutely lurve Twitter and why I find it compelling. They laughed, it seemed to work. Made it into a little narrative, and Dr. Schwartz sez that story is the thing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

