Kids Help Phone Cyberbullying Report

There have been lots of exciting things happening in my life these days, which means I have backlog of the things I would most like to write about.    Expect January to be busier with my blog than December was.

But, to tide you over until then, I think these Kids Help Phone reports are invaluable to any public librarian.   In particular, I was interested in the one on cyberbullying.   I don’t know about other librarians out there, but I always find it hard to find the balance the messages out there about Internet Safety.   Some want to block/filter everything, others want to abdicate all responsibility to the parents.  This report was an interesting reality check on what the real risks are and how teens/young people feel about them.   I think it has alot of insight on how parents, teachers and librarians can ensure that the Internet remain a positive short and long-term experience for kids.

I also felt that their discussion group is excellent for gathering perspective on what concerns teens and how they experience the world around them (also what they think of adults).

One thought on “Kids Help Phone Cyberbullying Report

Leave a Reply

