Five Things You Don’t Know About Me

Well, I’d like to say I was tagged directly, but I wasn’t. But Meredith did say “I think just about everyone on my blogroll has taken part in this meme, so I’m not going to tag anyone in particular. If you haven’t already been tagged, consider yourself tagged now,” and I am in her public Blogroll, so pathetic as this is, I am considering myself tagged. Here are five things you don’t know about me:

  1. I once sang in a choir for the investigure of Jeanne Mathilde Sauvé when I was 12 years old. I still try to sing here and there, but I haven’t been recently. I did participate in a jazz quartet we called “Sweetland” and was asked briefly to sing for the Novelty Salesmen. I couldn’t do it because I was in Library School. Drag. Big drag actually. Mostly because my “no” turned into Rick Gunn’s “yes” and Rick is immensely more talented in my opinion. Charlie A’Court eventually joined and then left the band for a successful solo Blues career.
  2. I lived in Toronto for both of the Blue Jays’ World Series victories. A grand old time for us Canucks who had never seen the World Series come to Canada before.
  3. Most of my family is Canadian military. My recently deceased Grandfather was quite the war hero, a member of the “Black Devils” or “Devil’s Brigade.” One of my aunts and two of my uncles all made it to CWO rank in the Canadian forces. One of those uncles was part of the Canadian inquiry into the death of four Canadians in a friendly-fire bombing incident. Another uncle fought in Vietnam for the United States and his son is in the US Army as well. My father was Canadian navy, and a bunch more sisters married army folks. I never took to the life though. I just couldn’t imagine myself in that sort of job.
  4. I love music, used to help teach a musical appreciation course, and have been asked to DJ at private parties are more than one occassion. The trick to DJ-ing is transition, not song selection. I have been known to get an under 30 crowd to dance to Tony Orlando‘s “Tie a Yellow Ribbon.”
  5. I am absolutely in love with Ireland the country and would move to the West of the island in a shot.

That’s that. So now I will tag those who may already be tagged. How about Jenny Levine, Jennifer Macaulay, Heather Matheson, and two other people who haven’t yet been tagged you know who you are (or maybe you don’t).

3 thoughts on “Five Things You Don’t Know About Me

  1. […] Over the past week, I’ve taken a break from blogging – writing on my on my own and reading others. While catching up on all the new blog posts, I have thoroughly enjoyed learning five new things about so many of the bloggers in libraryland. I wasn’t sure whether I would join in until Ryan Deschamps from The Other Librarian specifically tagged me this morning. I’ve been thinking about it all morning – and trying to come up with five little known, but  not completely boring facts about myself. Enjoy!!! […]

    Like

  2. “And you may ask yourself: How did I get here?”

    I have no idea! One minute I’m at The Buffaloe-Pen and suddenly I’m on the site of someone who knows who Jeanne Sauve is. Hmm.
    I’m in K-W now, but was born and raised in the Toronto area – was living there during the two World Series of which you speak and I like Tony Orlando and Dawn too! (Knock Three Times is the best imho.)

    Were you in Library school in London?

    Kat

    Like

Leave a Reply

