The Book that I Wish People Would Read

One of my very favorite blogs is Creating Passionate Users. Recently,
Kathy Sierra has started a meme for National Book Month asking people to list the book that they wish everyone would read. So here are my entries:

Non-fiction:

1. Dark Age Ahead by Jane Jacobs.

A very very smart person who unfortunately passed away recently. She looks at the basic problems humans have in ways both peculiar and wonderful. Really, anything by Jane Jacobs is great, but Dark Age Ahead is a book with practical solutions to some of the most pressing human issues in this world we have.

Runner-up:

Organizational Culture and Leadership by Edgar H. Schein.

I particularly like the chapter about the assumption differences between Management and Information Technology.

Fiction

Henderson the Rain King by Saul Bellow

I think sometimes people are so action oriented that they miss the potential consequences that come out of their actions. This is a very humourous, slightly sardonic, and touching look at an American’s view of Africa and the tragic consequences that sometimes come out of an “action orientation.”

Ulysses by James Joyce.

Yes, I _am_ an English major and this book is not for everyone (or so everyone thinks). The first reason I chose this as a book is because it is a very rewarding accomplishment to have read Ulysses. Rewarding because it is a beautiful book. Accomplishment because it is long and complicated. The second reason I chose this is selfish. I want more people in the world with whom I could discuss it (and maybe read chapters in depth yet again).

3 thoughts on “The Book that I Wish People Would Read

Leave a Reply

