A Rise in the Halifax Local Network?

25 Apr

Just by playing around with the TwitterSearch API I found a few interesting Halifax Twitterfolk.   One of them was Ben Boudreau another was Carman Pirie.  All of the sudden, my Halifax Twitwork began to expand.   It was exciting — I love discussing things with librarians from far-off places, but I really love talking to people locally as well.   And the crew from Halifax are a great one.

Then one of my posts made it to a local news service call Halifax Infomonkey.

Then, Carman and Ben got the idea for a social networking meeting.   Then I met some interesting people (more or less) who are both local and interested in using social media for new and innovative things.   They even politely listened while I gave my 5 minute speech about our recently CAP-ed off Learning 2.0 program.   I talked about EEE computers and switching to Mandriva from Xandros, what are the barriers to tech innovation in Halifax, and so on.   This was a very valuable meeting and I am glad to hear that we are thinking monthly get-together.   That’s because at least one person said they wished they could come.

One last special thanks as well to Colour for putting up for some snacks.   What a smart bunch of people!   See you next month folks!

3 Responses to “A Rise in the Halifax Local Network?”

  1. Ben April 25, 2008 at 10:39 am #

    Thanks for the event plug! I had a great time and have high hopes for the future. I have some linkage for you on my recap too.

  2. Meredith April 25, 2008 at 4:45 pm #

    Yay! Thanks for sharing this great example! While social software can be about creating connections with people who are distant, it also can be very much about connecting more with like-minded local people. Jessamyn is always meeting cool people in VT through the tubes and then I get to meet them when she invites a whole bunch of us over to her place for a meetup. She’s singlehandedly created my outside-of-work Vermont network. :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 31 Day Comment Challenge: Day 1 | Information Wants To Be Free - May 3, 2008

    [...] pattern. I usually comment when something catches my attention in a positive or negative way. When Ryan wrote about how he’s been using social software to grow his local network, I commented [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,519 other followers

